Jules’s Jukebox: I Guess It’s Time for a Christmas Tune

I’ve put off posting Christmas tunes simply because they are so overplayed. Now that we are only a few hours from Christmas Eve, I will relent and pick a couple of tunes to spread some holiday cheer:

“Mele Kalikimaka” by Bing Crosby and The Andrews Sisters. I’m a huge fan of the Andrews Sisters. And I have plenty of memories of Bing and videos of The Sisters on variety shows when I was little kid (all those old Bing Crosby Christmas Specials and Dean Martin shows…). But this song has a special meaning to me since I live in a place where it doesn’t snow and palm trees sway (SoCal can easily be a substitute for Hawaii in this song–especially with the large Polynesian community here). Plus, it’s just plain fun to say Mele Kalikimaka.

“A Marshmallow World” by Dean Martin. No Christmas list is complete without at least one member of the Rat Pack represented, so I stick to my favorite Rat, Dean Martin. This song reminds me of playing in the snow as a kid, making snow ice cream, building snowmen. I can remember looking out my bedroom window at the puffy, white, beauty of the snow and knowing that my brother and I were about to stomp tracks all through it, smearing it in each other’s faces and throwing snowballs until we couldn’t feel our fingers from the cold.

And now for something completely different…

On a non-Christmas side note, I wanted to include something that just deliciously fun (and to send love, support, and prayers for strength and healing to Carrie Fisher and her family):

“Seagulls! (Stop It Now)” A Bad Lip Reading of the Empire Strikes Back

Leave a Reply

