A Holiday For Gratitude — bluejayblog

I think that it’s fitting that the calendar placement of Thanksgiving is before the rest of our traditional holidays. I’m glad we don’t cram Thanksgiving into one of the days between Christmas and New Years Day. Carefully contemplating gratitude and enjoying what we have, is a good thing to do before we join in the orgy of greed […]

via A Holiday For Gratitude — bluejayblog

He said what I would have said, except probably better than I would have.

May you all have a day of thankfulness and plenty. May you all carve, not a turkey, but a few moments of time for your family and/or friends. If you are alone on this day, may you find it in your heart to give your time to others who may, like you, have no other place to go.

I grew up in a larger family, but now my family is small. The four of us tend to find our celebrations growing more intimate and easier to prepare. The days of large turkeys and a triple recipe of cornbread stuffing are long gone in my household, but making extra to take and share with others makes this holiday a favorite of mine.

Despite the humble beginnings with the pilgrims and Wampanoag in Plymouth (which often lends a much different meaning to the holiday for Native Americans), this holiday always reminds me that even though I may not have as much as my neighbors, I still have plenty. I’m happy. I have food on my table. I have a roof over my head. I have my family breaking bread with me. I have a wealth that is not measured in dollars. This holiday provides those moments of reflection to what I’m truly thankful for.

Leave a Reply

