Jules’s Jukebox: 1980, pt. 2

If 1980 said goodbye to John Lennon, it also welcomed with open arms a renewed AC/DC. The Australian rockers lost their lead singer, Bon Scott, in February. The band was already working on their follow up to Highway to Hell. As a tribute to Scott, they hired Brian Johnson in April and finished the album.

Back in Black was the result, and AC/DC’s tribute to their fallen mate made them international superstars. The first song I remember hearing from Back in Black was “You Shook Me All Night Long” became an instant anthem for me and my classmates. This song became a fixture on my life soundtrack. Every time I would hear it, the radio’s volume would get cranked.

Songs like “Back in Black” and “Hells Bells” were also favorites. “Back in Black” is a song of resiliency and coming back from the brink. I just want to strut every time I hear that song. But my second pick from Back in Black didn’t become part of my life soundtrack until my 30s. But the song is just so darned clever–reminding me of all the puns in Scott’s “Big Balls” from Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap. It’s theme also mirrors the overt sex of “You Shook Me All Night Long.”

“Let Me Put My Love into You” features the heavier blues riffs found so often on AC/DC’s earlier works. It hearkens back to “Ride On” from Dirty Deeds and “The Jack” from TNT/High Voltage. The line “Let me cut your cake with my knife” still makes me smirk and giggle like a school girl.

Leave a Reply

