Jules’s Jukebox: 1980, pt. 1

By the time 1980 rolled around, my life was nothing but a soundtrack. So many songs connect to certain images, times, events, people. There were simply too many songs released that year for me to pick one or two. So I’ve busted the Jukebox into three parts.

Part one features two songs that are absolute standouts for different reasons.

“Call Me” by Blondie was the number one song of the year. It hovers near the top of my all-time favorites list and it is on my current playlist on my phone. While the song was featured on the group’s album AutoAmerican, it was used in the movie American Gigolo the movie that launched Richard Gere to stardom. The song was composed by Debbie Harry in conjunction with Giorgio Moroder, who wrote and produced the movie’s soundtrack. I’ve always loved this longer version of the song that appeared on the soundtrack as opposed the shorter, radio friendly version on AutoAmerican.

My second choice for today’s Jukebox, I’ve selected a song that brings back bittersweet memories. My mom was so excited when John Lennon released Double Fantasy in November 1980. The first single from the album became a quick favorite in our household.

“(Just Like) Starting Over” by John Lennon became for me synonymous with the former Beatle’s death on December 8th. I can remember crying in bed as I listened to DJs on the radio confirm what Howard Cosell had announced on Monday Night Football–that Lennon had been assassinated by a deranged fan. Double Fantasy went on to win Album of the Year at the Grammy’s in 1981.

Leave a Reply

