Jules’s Jukebox: RIP Leonard Cohen

Leonard Cohen was not a fixture of my household while I was growing up. I discovered Cohen in my early 30s when I first heard “Hallelujah.” I immediately fell in love with his poetic prowess. My late mother became a big fan of his after watching a concert on PBS. So for nearly a decade his tunes would waft through the house.

I was excited to see that he released an album this past month, then I read a New Yorker article saying that he was he considered You Want It Darker his requiem and that he was “ready to die.” The new album was his goodbye much like Black Star was David Bowie’s final message.

But coming home today, turning on the news to see Brian Williams giving Cohen a send-off brought me to tears. After the shock of Tuesday’s election, seeing this expected yet unexpected news of Cohen’s passing just shook me to my bones.

So to honor my mother, and to honor the poet:

“Dance Me to the End of Love” by Leonard Cohen

Leave a Reply

