Jules’s Jukebox: The Eagles

The Eagles, Dude Lebowski’s least favorite band, offer some great mood music to my childhood. We had a number of Eagle’s 45s, but the standout was their definitive song, “Hotel California.”

The lyrics of the last verse sum up my feelings about the election’s tension:

“Last thing I remember, I was
Running for the door
I had to find the passage back to the place I was before
‘Relax’ said the night man
‘We are programmed to receive
You can check out any time you like
But you can never leave!”

Our movement down a particular path in this country is in motion. And we have reached the point of no return.

“Hotel California” by The Eagles

Leave a Reply

