Jules’s Jukebox: ABBA

I’m in my 40s, but I’ve been alive in 6 different decades (60s,70s,80s,90s,00s,10s). The 1970s were my formative years–where my taste in music was cemented, where my parents introducing me to an eclectic mix of music that cemented forever my love for it, where I built memories connected to songs, where when I hear those songs the rush of memories comes. And one song that reminds me of my mother is ABBA’s “Dancing Queen.” While it is not my favorite ABBA song, it was my mom’s favorite (my favorites are “Gimme, Gimme, Gimme” and “Take a Chance on Me”.

The quartet from Stockholm might seem kitschy to some, but they are really a guilty pleasure worth the listen and the memories filled with laughter and bad disco dancing.

“Dancing Queen”, from the album Arrival, was their biggest hit. It sat atop the charts for six weeks. My mom would listen to “Dancing Queen” and “Fernando” so much that I wanted to look and sound like Agnetha and Frida with their glossy lips and trendy hair.

My son, Tristan, was introduced to ABBA through a tribute band this summer when we listened to a charity concert at Pembroke Castle in Wales, UK. I will always associate “Voulez-Vous” with Pembroke. As we circulated the perimeter of the castle listening to the concert echoing from inside, I told my son about his grandmother’s love of ABBA and how his uncle and I both liked all the greatest ABBA hits.

So today, in honor of my mom, the jukebox is playing “Dancing Queen” by ABBA.

Leave a Reply

