Jules’s Jukebox: Mason Williams

Throughout the month of November, I’m striking a similar theme from day-to-day: the soundtrack of my youth. The first two entries (Moody Blues and Jethro Tull) have another thread in common with today’s entry–all are cherished not just by me, but my brother. When I listen to these songs, I can’t help but think of not just my mother putting a stack of 45s on the turntable to form the old school playlist, but I think of my younger brother and I making requests for certain songs.

“Classical Gas” by Mason Williams is one of the requested songs. Williams may have been born in Texas, but he graduated from high school and college in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma–only 35 miles from where my brother and I grew up. So his song always had the special meaning of being composed by a local boy done good. He went on to re-record this song with Mannheim Steamroller in the 1990s as well.

“Classical Gas” by Mason Williams

Leave a Reply

