Prepping for NaNoWriMo: A Different Tactic for a Shot at Success

nanowrimo

As I have been prepping for this year’s National Novel Writing Month, I’ve vacillated between two concepts: Story Blog or Traditional Storytelling.

Being a fan of The Lizzy Bennet Diaries on YouTube, I give kudos to the concept of breaking a known story into digestible parts, modernizing, and making into a video blog a la Olive in the movie Easy A (an homage to Hawthorne’s Scarlet Letter). These adaptations are clever, witty, and fun. Not wanting to borrow from a classic myself, I was curious if I could play with the formula of writing a script for a daily vlog or write a daily blog that tells an original story of my own. I have also contemplated just writing a daily blog on whatever topic comes to mind each day, find the common thread, then compile the blogs into a story at a later date. There are so many options.

Then there’s traditional storytelling–like most of today’s novels. Not wanting to make writing a novel overly difficult, I’d probably start with the simple, then expand to utilizing advanced strategies for weaving the story together. For this option, I have two unfinished drafts in the pipeline from the past couple of years. Many NaNoWriMo participants consider it “cheating” to pick up unfinished works, but with all the revisions that need to be made, these works are indeed like starting from scratch. Or I can start on a new piece altogether. Research, outline, and write from scratch. I don’t like to prep before November 1st, as I consider that to be “cheating.” To me the goal is to go through the entire writing process during this month, not just the drafting part. While I might not end the month with a polished piece, I do hope to end the month with at least a workable draft.

I’m still on the fence as to which direction to go. I have til midnight to figure it out. Then it’s off to the races…

P.S. If you have never heard of NaNoWriMo, I encourage you to check it out!

Leave a Reply

