Ten Twisted Fairy Tales

Ten Twisted Fairy Tales

Well, I think I found my “light” summer reading list. While researching examples of Fractured/Twisted/Sideways Fairy Tales to share and use for discussion in my creative writing class, I happened upon this list. While I’m very familiar with many on the list (I use Gardner’s Grendel when I teach Beowulf every year in a lesson encouraging students to explore characters through switching point of view, and Bradley’s The Mists of Avalon is a favorite of mine), there were a few on the list that stood out as potentially fun summer reads. Gregory Maguire’s The Confessions of an Ugly Stepsister and Neil Gaiman’s Smoke and Mirrors are joining my long list of summer reads. Since I am teaching a course new to me next year, and my summer promises to be filled with reading and re-reading a plethora of classics (Wuthering Heights and Heart of Darkness will surely provide a little light reading), these two will add a nice change of pace.

Leave a Reply

