Yes, the BFRO Really Exists

One recent night, my son and I decided to browse through Netflix looking for the goofiest shows we could find. We stumbled upon an Animal Planet channel series titled, Finding Bigfoot. We couldn’t pass THAT up! And before we knew it, we were rolling on the floor in laughter and entering absolutely unforgettable new words into our lexicon. Yes, it didn’t take long before we were “squatchin'” with Matt Moneymaker, Bobo Fay, Cliff Barackman, and team skeptic Ranae Holland. We had a “squatchy” good time watching about local Virginia lore about a “woodbooger” roaming the woods. We started “knocking” when we called each other across the house too (I guess, a sasquatch knocks on wood to communicate with other sasquatches in the area).

Netflix has the entire second season of Finding Bigfoot. Yes, the second season. Not the first. This prompted two thoughts from me when we first started watchin’ the squatchin’. A) Animal Planet actually paid for two seasons of this schlock, and B) What the heck happened to the first season? That’s awfully squatchy to be so hidden. Netflix having this fine entertainment available prompted some additional questions in my household. We grew curious about Bobo and his friends. Were they for real? So we looked up their organization, the BFRO–the Bigfoot Field Researchers Organization. And yes, they are real. And they have been around since 1955 according to their site. I could even buy Bobo’s fancy “Gone Squatchin'” trucker hat if I’d like–for only $18.

Bobo's $18 fancy Gone Squatchin' trucker hat.

Bobo’s $18 fancy Gone Squatchin’ trucker hat.

Anyway, I recommend Finding Bigfoot for anyone wanting a little mindless fun. Not to mention that one can learn how to make a bigfoot call when in the wild, learn how to listen for knocking, and other fine, fun, outdoor woodland activities.

And for even more bigfoot fun, I highly recommend Tom Putnam’s eight minute short film Broadcast 23. This squatchy gem was introduced at the Sundance Film Festival four years ago and carries a slightly higher pedigree than Finding Bigfoot. I was introduced to this rip-roaring good fun when my mom wrote a review the Hermosa Beach Shorts Film Festival. I immediately fell in love with Putnam’s tongue-in-cheek look a bigfoot mania, to be careful what we wish for.

When I was a child I wanted very much to believe in bigfoot, the Loch Ness monster, the yeti, the Bermuda triangle, and all manner of the unexplained. I used to roam the creek next to my house looking for giant foot prints  and such. Heck, if I’d ever found a real squatch, I probably would’ve pissed myself. So to see these grown men and women roaming the woods at night with the coyotes and bears and deer and other wildlife, I can’t help but wonder what these BFRO folks would do if they really did encounter an eight foot, bipedal, ape-like creature knocking on wood in the forest. But maybe we’ll leave that for Broadcast 23-style conjecture… 

One thought on “Yes, the BFRO Really Exists

Leave a Reply

