Harry Potter Readers Are Stupid

I’m not even going to give Byatt’s argument credence by trying to discredit it. I’m simply stating I enjoyed the Harry Potter series immensely, especially when I read it each night with my son. He grew up from the age of four with the stories of Harry and his friends to the point where I’d find him with a flashlight reading more after I’d gone to bed. Rowling helped fuel my son’s interest in reading and fantasy so that he did read Tolkien and others.

101 Books

So says A.S. Byatt, author of Possession. I’m paraphrasing.

The more I read about A.S. Byatt, the less likeable she seems.

Last week, we talked about her dismissiveness of bloggers and social media. This week, let’s talk about how much she dislikes Harry Potter and J.K. Rowling. How fun!

Byatt comes across as the quintessential book snob. The complex, fantastical world of Harry Potter isn’t good enough for her. J.K. Rowling is just a simpleton, parroting old clichés.

This comes from an op-ed Byatt wrote for the New York Times in 2003.

View original post 417 more words

Leave a Reply

